Elden Ring Delayed By A Month But You Can Still Play It Early In Its Beta

Comments Off on Elden Ring Delayed By A Month But You Can Still Play It Early In Its Beta
elden ring

Credit: FromSoftware/Bandai Namco

Bandai Namco and FromSoftware have announced that Elden Ring has been delayed. But fear not, because it’s only for a month or so.

We’ve been patiently waiting for Elden Ring for a couple of years now, so a mere month won’t hurt. It will only heighten my excitement and ultimately, should result in a better game.

So, when is Elden Ring released? Well, it moved away from its January 21st, 2022, release date and has been pushed back to February 25th, 2022. The reason for the delay is that the: “depth of the game and the degree of freedom in strategy exceeded the initial expectations, hence it has been decided to extend the development time for final adjustments,” which is why the delay has happened.

However, we can still play the game early if we’re selected to take part in the Closed Network Test which starts next month on November 12th. The test will not only give players the first play of Elden Ring, but those selected for the beta will help to shape the multiplayer side of things.

elden ring

Credit: FromSoftware/Bandai Namco

The Closed Network Test will be available for PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S. Sadly, there seems to be no test for PC, at least not yet anyway.

If selected in the test, players will be able to play Elden Ring throughout the weekend of Friday, November 12th to Monday the 15th. During the test, cross-play will be available but for only PS4 with PS5 players, as well as Xbox One with Series X|S players. So, for example, PlayStation players will not be able to play with Xbox players during the test.

The Elden Ring Closed Network Test times are as followed:

  • November 12th: 10am GMT/12pm CET to 1pm GMT/3pm CET
  • November 13th: 2am GMT/4am CET to 5am GMT/7am CET
  • November 13th: 6pm GMT/8pm CET to 9pm GMT/11pm CET
  • November 14th: 10am GMT/12pm CET to 1pm GMT/3pm CET
  • November 15th: 2am GMT/4am CET to 5pm GMT/7pm CET

For a chance to take part in the test, players must first have a Bandai Namco account and sign up here.

Will you be signing up to take part in the Closed Network Test? Let us know across our social media channels. Oh, and good luck. Elden Ring will release for PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S on February 25th, 2022.

Featured Image Credit: FromSoftware/Bandai Namco