God of War Wins Four Golden Joystick Awards and Fortnite Wins “Ultimate” GOTY

Over the weekend the winners were revealed for one of the UK’s most prestigious video games award celebration with the Golden Joystick Awards.  The PlayStation 4 exclusive God of War was the most successful game of the night picking up a total of four awards, including PS4 Game of the Year, and developers Santa Monica also won Studio of the Year for good measure.

Other notable winners includes Octopath Traveler winning Nintendo Game of the Year, Forza Horizon 4 winning Xbox Game of the Year, Subnautica winning PC Game of the Year, and Red Dead Redemption 2 won the Critics Choice Award, all very worthy winners indeed.  And winning the ultimate popularity vote, the immensely popular Fortnite won “Ultimate Game of the Year”.  Finally, Dark Souls and Bloodborne developer, Hidetaka Miyazaki won the Lifetime Achievement award.

You can check out the full list of winners below, also be sure to let us know what you think of all the winners across our social media channels.

Golden Joystick Award winners.

  • Best Storytelling: God of War
  • Best Competitive Game: Fortnite Battle Royale
  • Best Cooperative Game: Monster Hunter: World
  • Best Visual Design: God of War
  • Best Indie Game: Dead Cells
  • Best Audio: God of War
  • Still Playing Award: World of Tanks
  • Best Performer: Bryan Dechart, Detroit: Become Human
  • Esports Game of the Year: Overwatch
  • Best VR Game: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR
  • Studio of the Year: SIE Santa Monica Studio
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster: Bryan Dechart and Amelia Rose Blaire
  • Mobile Game of the Year: PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile
  • PC Game of the Year: Subnautica
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler
  • Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds
  • Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077
  • Critic’s Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hidetaka Miyazaki
  • Outstanding Contribution: Xbox Adaptive Controller
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite Battle Royale

Leave a Comment